Skip to main content

in this section

See Also:

Lena Kourkoutis awarded 2018 Microscopy Society of America Major Award

Monday, April 2, 2018

Lena Kourkoutis

The Microscopy Society of America (MSA) announced today its 2018 major award winners, including AEP Assistant Professor Lena Kourkoutis for the Burton Medal. She will be honored on August 6 with six other individuals at the MSA’s annual convention, Microscopy & Microanalysis 2018, in Baltimore, Maryland. The major awards of the society honor distinguished scientific contributions to the field of microscopy and microanalysis by technologists and scientists at various career stages, as well as distinguished service to the society.

The Burton Medal annually honors the distinguished contributions in the field of microscopy and microanalysis thus far in the career of a scientist of not more than 40 years of age.

“Lena Kourkoutis’ accomplishments during her young career include pioneering work in developing and applying spectroscopic and cryogenic methods to image the atomic-scale composition and bonding of interfaces and nanoscale materials,” said Christine Brantner, biological sciences co-chair of the MSA Awards Committee. “Her work has been valuable for topics from conditions of superconductivity at oxide interfaces to dead layers in manganites. Her cryogenic methods are having an immediate impact in the battery community.”

Read more about Lena Kourkoutis and her research group by visting her research page, Kourkoutis Electron Microscopy Group


back to listing